This is a "normal" transaction
Per firearm (could be taxed or non-taxed). If going to licensee, actaul shipping charges will be added.
ALL transfers require background check (DROS). Many firearms can go on one DROS. Only ONE handgun per 30 days.
This is required for any firearms transfer. Good for 5 years after passing test given here, unless exempt (CCW, LEO, Hunt license, etc)
Tax will be collected on all firearms and shipping costs transferred at 8.25%. (unless exempt or already collected for CA)
This is between two California Residents
Cost per firearm
Many firearms can go on one DROS
If you intend to transfer firearms to us at All Terrain Firearms, contact us first to make sure we can facilitate your transfer and also verify it can be transferred to you in CA. If you do not contact us first and we can not transfer it to you or we have to reject shipment due to it being illegal in CA you will be charged for us getting it returned to it's origin. Most of the time we can beat prices from other sellers. We encourage you to buy directly through us at All Terrain Firearms for your protection against wrong firearms being shipped from non-California licensed firearms dealers.
The process of the private party transfer is the background check is performed on the buyer first, if the buyer does not pass the seller is checked. If neither passes background the firearm will be collected by law enforcement. Please refer to our Sales page for more info on the background check process.
Items you need to transfer firearms in California:
240 Hour wait: The background check is a 240 hour wait from the time we enter you and your firearm info into CA DOJ. We cannot enter your background until you provide us the proper documents proving your residence in Califorina and we have possession of your firearm. You must also have the ATF form 4473 filled out here in our presence. Once we enter your background (DROS) into CA DOJ there are no refunds on the $25 fee. If you don't hear from us there is no problem with your background. When 240 hour wait is about over please contact us to setup a time for pickup. You must pick up your firearm between day 10 and day 30 from the time we entered your background (DROS). If you don't pick up your firearm by the 30 day mark (720 hours) you will incur a $75 fee and 240 hour wait along with redoing all paperwork.
NOTICE TO ALL TRANSFEREES:
As soon as we receive it, we will contact you via e-mail or phone number provided. From that point you have 30 days to come in and start your background check (DROS). More than 30 days here will incur monthly fees of $50 per month until the firearm enters DROS. After 120 days the firearm will be considered abandoned and all rights will be surrendered to the firearm. If you request the firearm sent back to origin you will be responsible for setting up the transfer and pay all costs to get it returned to the origin.